Heatwaves and Poetry

Whew it is too hot outside these days. As much as I love nature, I am a wimp when it comes to heat. Then again, I am a ginger…

What have I been up to? Photography and poetry lately. Life’s been crazy and the muse needs time for longer fiction.

photo(8)

so hot… but still great light!

Today’s poem: Grief’s Labyrinth

Somewhere between
your synapses and neurons,
you hide, wrapped in grief,
a blanket so thick I
can’t see you. Perhaps
it’s selfish to feel
affected by your tragedy,
but I missed you even as
I slept next to you. Space
and silence have their
places, but so do the
comforts of words
and simple hands.

Please, come back. I
do not wish to force you
from your grief. I only
want to know where you
hide in the labyrinth of
emotions. I can’t find the
exit to this place, but I can
hold you for a moment,
giving you a part of my
strength, a moment’s rest,
time to find your way again.

photo(7)

I also really enjoy taking photos of strangers on the subway… Hopefully my creeping will improve so I can get face shots!

Happy Thursday y’all. New update of Hagar and Ishmael this Saturday!!

Leave a Reply

