Space and Scripts

Hello! You would think only working part time would mean I am free as a bird. LIES. Well, my grand parents were in town this weekend, so they kept me pretty busy. We got to go see the Air and Space Museum out by Dulles, VA. And I don’t really like planes: but it was awesome.

Image

My grandparents walking towards the Discovery. 

Today, however, I have a script for you! The muse kept going over the first line of this, so you gotta listen. So without further ado….

Today’s piece: Confessions

Author’s Note: I am not Catholic. I tried to make it as realistic as possible to what I think confession would be like from research online. Mature themes, but only PG-13. 

Woman: In the is name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. My last confession was 2 years and 5 days ago

Priest: And the father said “this brother of yours was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.”* Welcome back my child.

Woman: Father, I have entered into the holiest of unions under false pretense. I lied to him so I could steal from him. I used his love for me for the sake of my country. I was proud of my sin and power over him. I put faith in my nation over God. I fear I will never be forgiven.

Priest: All are forgiven by God if they repent.

Woman: But my husband? He…he is a good man, a faithful man. Will he forgive me? I have nightmares of his eyes so cold, his mouth a tight angry line. What will happen when I tell him that the woman he loves doesn’t exist?

Woman:  I choke on my lies now.  It’s harder and harder to pretend to be her. After everything I have taken, everything I have said, how can he love me? I will loose him. Worse, I fear for his soul, Father. The truth will make him bitter and angry. He may turn from the Lord. Heavenly father, forgive me, I am sorry for these and all the sins of my past life.

Priest: Only God knows what your husband will do. His sins are between him and God. You must have faith in God, my child. You cannot change the past, but you can change the present. Do one whole rosary, and reflect on the mercy of God. Tell your husband the truth. Hold fast to God and he will be with you.

Priest: God, the Father of mercies, through the death and resurrection of his Son has reconciled the world to himself and sent the Holy Spirit among us for the forgiveness of sins; through the ministry of the Church may God give you pardon and peace, and I absolve you from your sins in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Woman: Amen

Woman leaves confessional booth and goes outside. Pulls out a photo of her and her husband as she speaks into the phone.

Woman: Hi honey, what time are you coming home tonight? I was going to make dinner. (deep breathe) there’s something I need to tell you.

Camera cuts back into the church. Priest is stepping out of the booth. It is the same man in the photo. He goes into an office and pulls out a cellphone

Priest: Mark? Yeah, it’s me. It’s time to bring her in.

*Priest quotes Luke 15:32

Leave a Reply

